Your Thoughts On Oculus Rift

Public Out of Character Board.
Aureilya
Lost

Your Thoughts On Oculus Rift

Unread post by Aureilya »

I heard about the Oculus Rift VR gaming headset some time ago, but didn't think much about it. We've all heard of Virtual Reality headsets in movies or maybe even seen crappy versions of them in our lifetimes, so I figured this was just the latest mediocre product that would never really live up to our expectations.

Well, there's a podcast I've been listening to since about 2004, and the host is a big gamer and has been talking for years about wishing someone would create a true virtual reality experience. About three weeks ago, he ordered the Oculus Rift (still under development) and received it over the holiday weekend. He recorded a show a couple of days ago while using the headset with various games and demos, and described it as a life changing experience. He said it was even better than what he's been dreaming of for all these years. Here's the episode if anyone wants to hear a first hand review:

The Overnightscape 1027: VR

So, I'm strongly considering getting this. Right now it's still under development and has not been released as a consumer product yet, so the developers kit is only $300. I'm not sure how far out the actual release date is, but I'm afraid once the full product is available, it'll be $500 or more. That would be way out of my price range, so I'm thinking I might be ahead to jump on this while it's somewhat affordable. I've been doing a lot of research into this since yesterday and it seems like I'm seeing nothing but positive reviews. I believe it even works in WoW, as well as some other games like Team Fortress 2, Slender, Minecraft, Skyrim etc. Here's the actual website:

http://www.oculusvr.com/

I've also been watching reaction videos on youtube, some of which are pretty funny.